Coming Out

Published June 4, 2012 by auddity

So, I want to explain the title of this blog a little bit. When I say everyone is straight, I mean that generally everyone starts out identifying as straight, but obviously we don’t all end up that way. Because of the way our society works, a person is presumed to be straight and for the most part is raised to perceive a heterosexual lifestyle as the only normal course. Thus, LGBTQ folks must undergo the unique experience of “coming out” as something other than straight.

In a perfect world, no one would have to come out as anything, we would just be whatever we were. But unfortunately we humans are creatures of habit, and we carry on the traditions of our parents whether we mean to or not. I’ve had a lot of friends and family say to me, “If it weren’t for you I would never have been aware of/sensitive to queer issues.” And that is true for most people I think; if you don’t know someone who is queer, it isn’t even on your radar. As Harvey Milk said, “They vote for us two to one, if they know they know one of us.” Politics aside, I guarantee once people open their eyes and their minds, they’ll realize that they know at least one of us; that we’re actually everywhere, and that we’re not actually so uncommon. So let this be your wake up call: now you know at least one of us, even if it is only through the internet. Don’t I seem charming and completely non-threatening? Good, now go tell all your friends.

The other component to the “everyone is straight” thing is that being queer can HAPPEN TO ANYONE. Not to say that everyone is gay (which is a sweet website btw, you should totally check it out: http://everyoneisgay.com/), but I believe that everyone has the capacity to have feelings for someone who doesn’t fit the hetero mold. And that’s the pansexual viewpoint talking, but I’ll save that for another post. I certainly didn’t ever expect to come out as gay or pan or queer, but I did. It’s not something that you plan for but that is simply a product of our backwards society, and it certainly doesn’t make coming out a bad thing.

Thoughts? Leave a Reply!

