Sex, Gender, and Sexuality: What Lies Between

Published June 25, 2012 by auddity

This is an excerpt of a paper I wrote for an intro Gender Studies class last fall. It is particularly resonating with me at such an in-between part of my life:

Farther down the sexual orientation hierarchy is an in-between identity that is sometimes signified by a “Q” tacked onto the end of the acronym. The Q stands for “queer” or “questioning,” yet this can be something of a misnomer. The “questioning” category creates a space for queer individuals who may be contemplating their sexuality and who are temporarily in between sexual orientation identities. But what about those who live in the in-between? There are some people who simply do not wish to identify with any of the existing sexual orientation categories. They are not “questioning” whether they are gay or bisexual; they are simply neither. There is something immensely isolating about not knowing how to identify yourself with in your own head, your own frame of reference. The lack of definition indicates that society has not invented a term for you; you are indefinable. It is the validity of your identity that is questioned, not your sexual orientation.

We must recognize not only that “in-between identities” exist, but that they carry varying levels of privilege. There is privilege in definition.

2 comments on “Sex, Gender, and Sexuality: What Lies Between

  • I realize this post is fairly ancient in internet years, but I was introduced to your blog by a friend of mine and I decided to go back and read the older posts because why not? First, I want to say I love your blog, second, I love this post. Particularly “What about those who live in the in-between?” I identify as genderqueer, which makes sexual orientation exceedingly difficult to define – of course, I’m still working on understanding my own genderqueerness, so figuring out orientation is on the back burner – and this sentence resonates with me because it kind of is me.

    Anyway, Thank you for this blog. And this post.

    • And thank you for reading and commenting! I send all this out into the universe and I always wonder if anyone reads it, let alone gets anything out of it. So thank you. You really made my day with your comment. I hope you continue to figure things out (I don’t know if we’ll ever be done figuring it out). Also if there’s ever anything you want to see me write about on this blog, please let me know! You can follow me on facebook and post a request there!

  • Thoughts? Leave a Reply!

