Published October 9, 2012 by auddity

“Without having to constantly fight for the recognition I had been seeking for so long, I have begun to rethink my trans identity in a big way. To be clear, I have always identified first as trans, second as queer and third as a person who uses male pronouns (even though people have tried to police me into a male identity, both queer and normative, trans and cis). But even though I may appear male, and have always seen myself the way I appear now, I feel very strongly identified as female at my core. And now that the hair on my face is growing in more coarse, I wonder why I ever wanted a scratchy face.”

In Our Words

by: Lindsey Dietzler

I am not the sum of my parts; a penis does not make me a man, an uterus does not make me a woman. I am not the sum of my parts; testosterone does not make me a man, estrogen does not make me a woman. I am not the sum of my parts; my clothes do not make me a man, my socialization does not make me a woman.

As I continue my journey as a trans person, finding the path that is right for me, I discover that my trans identity is far more complicated than I even ever imagined it could be. I was never a proponent of the “trapped in the wrong body” narrative for myself, though I acknowledge that this is a very real experience for some trans folks.

When I first started taking testosterone, I was slightly apprehensive. I felt a…

View original post 950 more words

Thoughts? Leave a Reply!

